Dedicated to Steel Magnolias

This evening, there will be a rendition of the 1980’s version of the movie, “Steel Magnolias’. It will be aired on the Lifetime channel at 9 pm this evening. I was diagnosed with type 1 (insulin dependent) diabetes at the age of 9, over 20 years ago.
This movie is one that resonates in my heart and soul. Diabetes is a condition that is growing rapidly in the younger generations. The American Diabetes Association named it, ‘the silent killer’ a decade ago. Women who want to become mothers, who live with this condition, face tough decisions when questioning whether or not motherhood is an option for them. Technology has made it a bit easier since the onset of this disease when women had to choose their life in order to bare children.
Personally speaking, I faced the same questions 6 years ago when deciding to have my daughter. She is alive and well, after weighing 10 grams less than a pound, born at 26 weeks. Regardless of whether or not, diabetes runs in your family or not, this movie is one that tells a story. The story of perseverance, faith and love dancing with the idea of loss, sacrifice and death will leave the audience with knowledge. It will hopefully inspire as well.

Yes I have diabetes, but diabetes does not have me.
Injecting insulin helps me to live,
yet, does not determine my life, you see.
Having to live in fear of a disease, is not living.
Taking advice from doctors is advised but giving
life to a child is my mission
so please
allow me to breathe.
Do not kill my dreams.
To be a mother would be sweeter than
than any piece of pie
that I am denied.
To risk my life for the beauty of my own,
is what I am willing to do.
Diabetes will not stop me.
I have the faith to make it through.
Mommie, I am and will always be in your heart.
You taught me how to love this child,
before my life was to start.
Please forgive me for not taking your advice,
more than a cure for diabetes,
I want to give birth to life.
This condition does not define me as a wife.
It does not intimidate me despite the risk involved,
I will be fine either way, as this condition evolves.
I am a woman before a diabetic,
I am normal despite the aesthetics.
Embrace me, tell my story, educate and inspire,
Diabetes can not kill me, it fuels my fire.
Steel Magnolias, strong and weak,
determined and humble,
stubborn and meek,
alive or deceased,
I leave this legacy
for future seeds.
Do not speak,
just listen quietly.

2 thoughts on “Dedicated to Steel Magnolias

  1. I admire your strength and courage Doreen!! I have seen the impact of diabetes too many times. I lost an Aunt due to complications from Diabetes..she lost her eye, then her foot, then her leg! It was the worst thing that I ever seen and it still haunts me because the last day I went into her room and saw her lying there like that…I just couldn’t say good-bye…I just walked out the room. The next day she died. I also had Gestational diabetes while pregnant with my last child. The doctor told me that if I did not change my diet and eat better I too would become Type 2 Diabetic (which is different from you, you are Type 1 it sounds like) Diabetes has attacked the Black community for so many years…hopefully people will educate themselves and start living instead of dying….

    • Wow Moet. Thank you for sharing that story. It is one that goes unspoken way too often. I have been scared straight on many occassions, meeting people who have had complications as a result of diabetes. Type 2 is just as difficult as type 1 (which is the type that I have). It creeps up on people and has been knoen to knock them down considering the knowledge that people do NOT have. I hope you have followed the directions of the doctor, though it sounds like you have. Being a diabetic is the driving force behind my ambition. I always felt like I would die young (even as a child) so had to accomplish while I had the health to do so. I agree with you. Education is KEY! Be blessed Moe and thank you for your comment. Sharing inspires me 🙂

Leave a Reply

