Watching by D.D. Wright

I watch.
Mute to most,
I say minute & miniscule
messages then
remain quiet.
Hearing what is NOT being said.
Processing.
Watching.
So much of life unseen,
observations of beauty &
tragedy.
I watch.
The mannerisms of folk,
their eyes,
the sweet, bitterness,
prejudice & pride,
even as those things die.
I watch.
Most don’t ever know what
the eyes of a Christian, poet & mother sees,
taking for granted my silence
as they yell past me, silently.
Watching.
Writing.
Humbled by all that I see.
Life is too short to have vision,
yet lived blindly.
I watch, gratefully. -D.D. Wright

http://poetrybyddwright.webs.com

Leave a Reply

