Where Are Those Who Love Spoken Word?

   Poetry, like prayer, has been around for centuries. It has uplifted people, inspired them and fortified their spirits. Yet, too often, does not receive due credit, rarely makes a best seller list & more frequently, is not supported.
  Thankful for social networks & self publishing companies, more poets are able to showcase their work! I am mighty proud, I have been able to invest in myself, while creating communities of individuals who believe in poetry.
  While reading, “Everything You Need To Know About Self-Publishing”, before I decided to publish my first book of poetry, “Poetry 2Life: Youth. Struggle. Love.”, I learned that poetry was the least sold genre. I wasn’t surprised. If I had listened to my accountant & perhaps the author, I probably wouldn’t have bothered to invest. I simply had to try.
  It is not the profit (or projected lack thereof), that bothered me. I give away so much more than I charge for. I do not expect awards or accolades. I am just a true lover of words, figurative language & the feeling that poetry gives me.
  This weekend, there will be a Poetry 2Life Open Mic produced by YellowTapeInc at Epiphany’s in Harlem. It is not solely about the copies of “Poetry 2Life”, that I will have available nor the 2014 inspirational calendars that will also be available for purchase.       It is about the new poets, first time to the stage artists that will be performing their pieces, bringing them to life! It is about the ambience of the crowd, a large room (with a bar & a band), filled with people who feel similarly to the way that I do. It is about Harlem, the city that I was born in & the rich history of where writers such as Langston Hughes got their start! And to top it all off, it is free to attend.
  I do hope you can make it. I know that you will not be disappointed! I also hope that you reblog this, share the link & encourage your friends to come with you. Until then, be blessed & DO hope to see you there.

image

Leave a Reply

